• TIST Kenya

    Since 2004

  • TIST Kenya Overview

    TIST Farmers in Kenya


    Total number of Small Groups


    Total number of Small Group members


    Total number of villages involved

  • TIST Trees in Kenya


    Total of TIST trees alive, growing and being monitored in Kenya


    Total of TIST seedlings alive, growing and being monitored in Kenya

    Top 10 Species

    Gravellia, Eucalyptus, Cyprus, Acacia, Mango, Macadamia, Bottle Brush, Orange, Mukwego and Avocado

  • TIST Kenya Program Areas

    Embu County, Kenya


    Total Trees: 47,117
    Total Seedlings: 5,151
    Top Tree Species: Acacia, Mururue & Muuuku
    Number of Groups: 149

    Embu County is a county of Kenya. The capital of Embu County, Embu town is largely metropolitan since it was formerly the Eastern province headquarters. The county has a population of 543,221 persons. Located on the south-eastern slopes of Mount Kenya, the town of Embu had a population of 41,092 in 1999.

    Machakos County, Kenya


    Total Trees: 44,067
    Total Seedlings: 64
    Top Tree Species: Acacia, Mango & Muuuku
    Number of Groups: 47

    Machakos County is a county of Kenya. Its capital is Machakos. Its largest town is Machakos, the country's first administrative headquarters. The county had a population of 1,098,584 as of 2009. Machakos town, also called Masaku, is 63 kilometres southeast of Nairobi. It is the capital of the Machakos County. Its population is rapidly growing and was 150,041 as of 2009. Machakos is surrounded by hilly terrain, with a high number of family farms.

    Narok Country, Kenya

    Mara (Narok County)

    Total Trees: 41,419
    Total Seedlings: 29,900
    Top Tree Species: Cyprus, Gravellia & Eucalyptus
    Number of Groups: 161

    Narok County is a county in Kenya and has a population of 850,920. Its capital and largest town is Narok. The 1999 census estimated the population of Narok County at 26,930. Masai Mara National Reserve is a large game reserve in Narok County. It is named in honor of the Masai people (the ancestral inhabitants of the area) and their description of the area when looked at from afar: "Mara," which is Maa (Masai language) for "spotted," an apt description for the circles of trees, scrub, savanna, and cloud shadows that mark the area.

    Meru County, Kenya


    Total Trees: 6,489,298
    Total Seedlings: 2,835,584
    Top Tree Species: Gravellia, Eucalyptus & Cyprus
    Number of Groups: 6,833

    Meru County is one of the 47 counties of Kenya, located in the former Eastern Province. It has a population of 1.4 million people. The county headquarters is in the town of Meru. Meru town is the sixth largest urban centre in the country. Meru town forms a municipal council with a population of 240,900 residents.


    Total Trees: 22,408
    Total Seedlings: 28,322
    Top Tree Species: Avocado & Gravellia
    Number of Groups: 256

    Murang'a County is one of the counties of Kenya's former Central Province. Its largest town is Murang'a its capital, called Fort Hall in colonial times (before 1963). It is inhabited mainly by and is considered the home of the Gikuyu, the largest community in Kenya. The county has a population of 942,581 (2009).

    Laikipia County, Kenya

    Nanyuki (Laikipia County)

    Total Trees: 2,989,215
    Total Seedlings: 1,004,163
    Top Tree Species: Cyprus, Eucalyptus & Gravellia
    Number of Groups: 2,452

    Laikipia County is one of the 47 counties of Kenya, located on the Equator in the former Rift Valley Province of the country. Laikipia is a cosmopolitan county. The county has two major urban centres: Nanyuki to the southeast, and Nyahururu to the southwest. Its capital is Rumuruti. Nanyuki is a market town in Laikipia County situated just north of the Equator and home to some 50,000 people (2009). Laikipia County has a total population of 399,227 according to the 2009 census.


    Total Trees: 136,532
    Total Seedlings: 4,405
    Top Tree Species: Gravellia, Avocado & Muu
    Number of Groups: 288

    Nyamira County is a county in the former Nyanza Province of Kenya. It was formerly part of Kisii County when Kisii County was a district, and is sometimes called North Kisii County. The main cash crops grown are bananas and tea. The county has a population of 598,252 (2009). Its capital and largest town is Nyamira, with an urban population of around 41,668 (2009).


    Total Trees: 79,270
    Total Seedlings: 85,530
    Top Tree Species: Eucalyptus, Cyprus & Gravellia
    Number of Groups: 64

    Trans-Nzoia County is a county in the former Rift Valley Province, Kenya, located between the Nzoia River and Mount Elgon 380 km Northwest of Nairobi. At its centre is the town of Kitale which is the capital and largest town. The county borders Bungoma to the west, Uasin Gishu and Kakamega to the south, Elgeyo-Marakwet to the east, West Pokot to the north and the republic of Uganda to the Northwest. Trans Nzoia covers an area of 2495.5 square kilometres and has a population of 919,757 (2009).

  • Latest TIST Kenya Newsletter

    "Mazingira Bora" is written and published by TIST participants in Kenya

    June 2019

    All Posts